Status Update – 07/01/2021
Currently we are operating on a hybrid customer service model. What does that mean? At this time, all driver’s license and identification card transactions are required to have an appointment for service. This includes renewals, duplicates for an address or name change, lost or stolen licenses, and upgrades to Real or Enhanced DL/IDs. Upgrades to Real ID or Enhanced ID do require additional documentation.
All other services such as tabs, title transfers, disability certificates, duplicate titles, marriage license applications, birth/death/marriage certificates (along with additional deputy registrar services) can be processed by one of the following methods:
- Standby service: add your name to our standby list either from home or once you are in the building. Our system will inform you of your place in line. Availability is subject to current capacity limits and you must be in the building when your name is called in order to be served. Add your name to our standby list (starts daily at 8am)
- Via drop box (located in the circular drive on Atwood St between 4th and 5th Avenues) or mail. Please ensure that all transactions have a phone number enclosed. Your request will be processed in the order it was received and returned via mail.
Questions? Call or reach out to us via email at firstname.lastname@example.org. We have staff ready and available to answer your questions from 8 AM – 4:30 PM, Monday – Friday.
Construction update 05/05/2021:
We have moved to our temporary location. Please use the map below to find places to park.
(*note – the drop box is located in the circular driveway off of Atwood St beginning.)
All motorized watercraft regardless of length and non-motorized watercraft over 10 feet must be licensed by the Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The types of watercraft that must be licensed include, but are not limited to, motorboats, rowboats, sailboats, sailboards, stand-up paddleboards, canoes, kayaks, paddle boats, rowing shells or sculls, all-terrain vehicles used in the water and inflatable craft.
Exceptions to this law are as follows:
- Watercraft currently registered in another state and not kept in Minnesota for more than 90 consecutive days.
- Watercraft from a country other than the United States and not kept in Minnesota for more than 90 consecutive days.
- Watercraft owned by the United States government or other specified governmental units, except those boats used for recreational purposes.
- Watercraft documented with the United
- States Coast Guard (official papers on craft 5 net tons or larger are issued by the Coast Guard instead of state registration.)
- A ship’s lifeboat.
- Waterfowl boats used during the waterfowl hunting season, rice boats used during the harvest season and seaplanes.
- Non-motorized watercraft 10 feet in length or less.
New, Renewal or transfer registration
To begin print and fill out the .
Apply in person using our standby list at the Scott County Customer Service Center
Duplicate decal or registration card
The owner of the vehicle must be present and have valid identification.
Remember to Bring
- The completed universal registration form.
- The certificate of origin from the dealer (if a new vehicle.)
- Receipt from dealer showing payment of sales tax (also if new.)
Please go to for current prices.
You can pay with cash, check (payable to Scott County) or credit card. If you pay with a credit card you will be paying a 2.45% convenience fee.