Long-Term Care

About Long Term Care Services

Long Term Care (LTC) services include:

  • Skilled nursing facility care you receive when you reside in a nursing facility.
  • Home and community-based services waiver programs help people get coverage for things like additional medical supplies and equipment, help with daily living activities, case management, counseling and other services not covered through regular MA.

Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Programs

Medical Assistance (MA) coverage of home and community-based services waiver programs is available for people who need extra help to stay at home instead of moving to a nursing home or other medical facility. These programs include:

  • Brain Injury (BI) Waiver for people with acquired or traumatic brain injuries who need the level of care provided in a nursing facility that provides specialized (cognitive and behavioral supports) services for people with brain injury or neurobehavioral hospital level of care.
  • Community Alternative Care (CAC) Waiver for chronically ill and medically fragile people who need the level of care provided in a hospital.
  • Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI) Waiver for people with disabilities who require the level of care provided in a nursing facility.
  • Consumer Directed Community Supports (CDCS) for people enrolled in the Alternative Care or Elderly Waiver programs.
  • Developmental Disabilities (DD) Waiver for people with developmental disabilities or related conditions who need the level of care provided in an Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (ICF/DD).
  • Elderly Waiver (EW) for people age 65 or older who require the level of care provided in a nursing facility.

Alternative Care (AC)

The AC program is a state-funded cost-sharing program that supports certain home- and community-based services for eligible Minnesotans age 65 and older. This program provides home- and community-based services to prevent and delay transitions to nursing facility level of care. The program prevents the impoverishment of eligible seniors and shares the cost of care with clients by maximizing use of their own resources. It is administered by counties and tribal health agencies.

Asset Assessment

An Asset Assessment is a list of all assets owned by a married couple on a certain date. A county worker uses the information to decide the amount of assets a person's spouse can keep. The amount of assets will not count toward the asset limit for the person applying for Medical Assistance payment of long-term care (LTC) services. LTC services include nursing home care and services through the Elderly Waiver (EW) or Alternative Care (AC) program.