Permit to Purchase or Transfer a Firearm

Permit to Purchase / Transfer a Firearm

Residents who reside within the city limits of Belle Plaine, Elko New Market, Jordan, New Prague, Prior Lake, Savage, and Shakopee should apply for a Permit to Purchase at their respective police departments. All other Scott County Residents (rural townships and City of Credit River) may pick up an application at the Sheriff’s Office between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday or DOWNLOAD AN APPLICATION.

Permit to Purchase applications can be submitted using this ONLINE FORM.  Please make certain that the date written on the application is the date the application is submitted. A Driver’s License copy showing current address must also be provided at this time.  

Permits to Purchase a Firearm must be renewed every 12 months.

The Sheriff’s Office will conduct a series of background related checks to assure you meet the eligibility requirements established in state law. Once those checks are complete, a permit will be issued that is valid for one year and may be used to purchase a handgun statewide.

Helpful Links

Please contact our office at 952-496-8300 with any questions regarding Permits to Purchase.