Elections Department

2020 is bringing many changes to Scott County Elections! On March 3, 2020 voters will have the opportunity to participate in the Presidential Nomination Primary, Minnesota’s first since 1992. The two major parties that have chosen to participate are the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party and the Republican Party. A voter must request the ballot of the party of their choice. If a voter refuses to select a party, they will not be able to vote in the presidential nomination primary. A voter’s choice of party ballot will be recorded and is private data. However, a list of who voted and the political party each voter selected will be provided to the chair of each major political party. How a voter voted on the ballot will be secret. For more information, click here:

Also, the location for in person absentee voting has moved to the Scott County Public Works Building 600 Country Trail E. Jordan, MN 55352. Voters that reside in the city limits of Shakopee, Savage, Prior Lake or Jordan may go to their local city hall to absentee vote in person. All other cities and township voters wishing to vote in person would need to visit us at Public Works. See our Absentee Voting  page for details regarding addresses, hours and contact information.

The Elections Department serves more than 87,000 registered voters in the county; providing voter registration and election administration services for federal, state, and local elections.

Election results are provided by the Minnesota Secretary of State -- click here to visit their website.