Registering to Vote
You may register to vote in one of two ways:
- Online: Use the MN Secretary of State's Online Voter Registration Site to self-register to vote. You will need an email address to complete the process. Have your Minnesota driver's license or Minnesota state identification card handy.
- Print: Complete the Minnesota Voter Registration Application and return it to Customer Service at the Scott County Government Center. Print copies are available in the Government Center and all Scott County Libraries. See below for more details.
- Election Day Registration: All Minnesotans are able to register to vote at their polling place on Election Day even if they couldn't register to vote in advance. You will need some identifying documents. See below for more details.
If you are currently registered to vote, you don't need to register again unless you have:
- Moved to a different address (if you submit a permanent forwarding order with the U.S. Postal Service, your voter registration may automatically be updated to your new address. You will receive a postcard notification);
- Changed your name; or
- Not voted at least once within the last four years
You can conveniently use the MN Secretary of State's Am I Registered to Vote? page to look up your registration status.
Election Day Registration
If you are not able to pre-register, you can still register on election day. To do so, you must provide election judges at your polling location with certain acceptable forms of identification to prove your eligibility as follows:
An ID with current address:
- Minnesota Driver’s License, Learner’s Permit, Minnesota Identification Card, Tribal Identification Card (or the receipt for renewal or change of the license or ID) or
A photo ID with a bill or fee statement:
- Photo: Minnesota Driver’s License, U.S. Passport, Tribal ID, Minnesota ID Card, U.S. Military ID or Student ID
- Bill: Gas, telephone (landline or cell), TV (cable, satellite), water, internet services, electric, solid waste, sewer services, rent statement (with itemized utilities), or a student fee statement. The bill or statement must be due within 30 days of the election and contain your name and current address or
- You can be vouched for by having a person who is registered to vote in your precinct and knows that you are a resident of the precinct vouch for your residency.
- Late notice, which you may have received from Scott County if your voter registration card was received after the last day to pre-register.
- You've had previous registration in same precinct.
What's on the Voter Registration Application?
The Voter Registration Application requires that you read and sign only if all parts apply to you as follows:
I certify that I:
- Will be at least 18 years old on election day;
- Am a citizen of the United States;
- Will have resided in Minnesota for 20 days immediately preceding election day;
- Maintain residence at the address given on the registration form;
- Am not under court-ordered guardianship in which the court order revokes my right to vote;
- Have not been found by a court to be legally incompetent to vote;
- Have the right to vote because, if I have been convicted of a felony, my felony sentence has expired (been completed) or I have been discharged from my sentence; and
- Have read and understand this statement, that giving false information is a felony punishable by not more than five years imprisonment, a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.
Find & Submit the Print Application
Print copies of Voter Registration Applications can be obtained at the Scott County Government Center and all Scott County Libraries (View library locations and hours).
Return your print application:
Scott County Government Center
ATTN: Customer Service
200 4th Avenue W
Shakopee, MN 55379