News Flash

Scott County Sheriff's Office Press Releases

Posted on: December 7, 2022

MSA Life Saving Award Announcement

Sheriff Luke Hennen presented Deputy Amy Weckman, Dr. Andrew Stevens of Credit River, and Ian Brekhus of Prior Lake each with a Life Saving Award from the Minnesota Sheriff’s Association (MSA) during their annual Winter Conference on December 5, 2022.  Nominations for this award are submitted by Sheriff’s Offices statewide to the MSA, and are issued to anyone who, under the direction of the Sheriff’s Office, performed extraordinary actions to save the life of a person that would have likely died if not for that action.

On December 3, 2021, Ian Brekhus was hanging holiday lights for his company when his 25-year old coworker had been electrocuted, and was unconscious and not breathing, after the pole he was using to hang lights in a tree came into contacted with a high voltage power line.  Ian immediately called 9-1-1 and was instructed to begin CPR.  

Minutes after the call was placed, Dr. Stevens and Deputy Weckman arrived on-scene and began administering life-saving assistance to the victim, including shocking him multiple times with an AED and providing oxygen.   They were able to restart his heart before he was transported to Hennepin County Medical Center for further treatment. From the time Ian placed the call, to the time the victim was loaded into the ambulance, only 20 minutes had passed.

“The immediate response and quick actions of Ian Brekhus, Dr. Stevens, and Deputy Weckman resulted in a positive outcome to a potentially life-threatening event,” said Sheriff Hennen.  “We are proud of them for their actions and are grateful that the victim was able to make a full recovery.”

“Doc Stevens” as he’s known locally, is not only a Credit River resident, but also serves as a Credit River City Council Member and is the Medical Director for the Prior Lake Fire Department, which serves the city of Credit River.   

MSA Life Saving Award group photo

Pictured from left to right:  Chief Deputy Adam Pirri, Prior Lake resident Ian Brekhus, Credit River resident Dr. Andrew Stevens, Deputy Amy Weckman, and Sheriff Luke Hennen at the annual Minnesota Sheriff's Association Winter Conference Awards Ceremony.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Scott County Sheriff's Office Press Releases

Death investigation in New Market Township

Posted on: December 23, 2022

Structure fire in Louisville Township

Posted on: September 22, 2022

2022 Law Enforcement Scholarship Program

Posted on: September 7, 2022

UPDATE - Parental Abduction in Shakopee

Posted on: August 31, 2022

Parental Abduction in Shakopee

Posted on: August 30, 2022

Structure fire in Cedar Lake Township

Posted on: August 20, 2022

SAFCOM turns 45!

Posted on: October 6, 2021

2021 Law Enforcement Scholarship Program

Posted on: September 21, 2021

Structure Fire in New Market Township

Posted on: September 7, 2021

Planting Season and Roadway Safety

Posted on: April 28, 2021

Barn Fire – Blakeley Township

Posted on: April 19, 2021

Prevent Mail and Package Theft

Posted on: March 3, 2021

City of Credit River Policing Contract

Posted on: February 24, 2021

Inmate Dies in Scott County Jail

Posted on: December 22, 2020

Assault with weapon in Sand Creek Township

Posted on: December 21, 2020

Sheriff's Office receives drone donation

Posted on: November 24, 2020

Two Arrested in Death Investigation

Posted on: November 19, 2020