News Flash Home
The original item was published from 8/25/2022 10:29:00 AM to 8/25/2022 10:29:55 AM.

News Flash

Scott County Sheriff's Office Press Releases

Posted on: December 14, 2018

[ARCHIVED] 2018 'Season's Greetings' Card Contest Winner

Today, Scott County Luke Hennen announced the winner of the second annual Sheriff’s Office ‘Season’s Greetings’ Card Design Contest.    “We were thrilled with the level of interest that this challenge inspired,” Sheriff Hennen said.  “After receiving dozens of submissions and going through a thorough review process with a panel of three judges, I am pleased to award first place to Sofia Fritzke, age 11, from Jordan Elementary.”  

Sofia’s winning submission will adorn the Scott County Sheriff’s Office 2018 Season’s Greetings Card.  Runners-up included Zach Gilbertson from Eagle View Elementary (Elko New Market) and Noriel Sanchez from Eagle View Elementary (Elko New Market).  Contestants were asked to submit original artwork with a winter-themed picture incorporating the Scott County Sheriff’s Office in some way.  

This year’s winner, Sofia Fritzke, was a runner-up in the 2017 contest and was determined to win the contest in 2018.  Her hard work and dedication paid off as Sofia will have her design featured on the front cover of the official Scott County Sheriff’s Office 2018 Season’s Greetings cards.  She also received lunch with Sheriff Hennen, a ride in a patrol vehicle, a certificate of excellence, and 10 copies of the printed greeting card.  The runners-up received certificates of excellence, a copy of the card, and lunch with a deputy.  The winner and runners-up will also receive recognition on the Scott County Sheriff’s Office social media pages.

“This has been another wonderful event.  The talent of our local youth made choosing a winner extremely difficult,” Sheriff Hennen stated. “The competition keeps getting stronger.  Our entire staff looks forward to next year’s contest!” 


(Above) Sheriff Luke Hennen presents 2018 Season's Greeting Card Contest winner Sofia Fritzke with a Certificate of Excellence for her outstanding submission this year.

(Above) Deputy Amy Lueck and Elko New Market Interim Police Chief Craig Bell stand with runners-up Zach Gilbertson and Noriel Sanchez, both students at Eagle View Elementary School.

(Above) Sofia Fritzke's winning artwork.
Runner Up 1

(Above) Zach Gilbertson's tremendous drawing.

(Above) The colorful entry by runner-up Noriel Sanchez.

Facebook Twitter Email