News Flash Home
The original item was published from 8/17/2021 3:51:00 PM to 8/25/2022 10:24:55 AM.

News Flash

Scott County Sheriff's Office Press Releases

Posted on: August 17, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Scott-Le Sueur Co farmers donate soy-based tires to Scott Co and Le Sueur Co Sheriff’s Offices

The Scott/Le Sueur County Soybean Growers Association recently presented checks to the Scott County and Le Sueur Sheriff’s Offices to purchase soy-based tires.  The donation was made possible with the help of the Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotional Council’s (MSR&PC) “Driving Soy” campaign.  

The soy-based Goodyear tires are designed specifically for first responder vehicles in all season climates.  The tires are softer, providing better traction especially when temps drop during cold Minnesota winters.

“Soy-based tires are a win for farmers, consumers, and the environment,” said Sheriff Luke Hennen.  “I’m told that soy oil improves tire flexibility and all-around performance, which will keep our deputies safe while driving in Minnesota’s unpredictable weather conditions.” 

The MSR&PC oversees the investment of soybean checkoff dollars on behalf of the nearly 28,000 soybean farmers in Minnesota.  This money is used to promote, educate, and develop market opportunities for soybeans.  Each of the MSR&PC’s 44 member counties had the opportunity to donate a set of soy-based tires to their county sheriff’s office.

“We are extremely happy and excited to be able to work with you to make this happen,” said Nate Braun with the Scott/ Le Sueur County Corn and Soybean Growers Association.  “We appreciate the opportunity you have given us to showcase these new tires.”

The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company has been producing tires using soybean oil instead of the standard petroleum oil for the last several years and has committed to replace petroleum oil with soybean oil by 2040.  According to the MSR&PC, it takes a bushel of soybeans to make four soy-based tires.  Goodyear currently offers four lines of soy-based tires available for purchase.

“We are grateful to the Scott/Le Sueur County Corn and Soybean Growers Association for their donation and appreciate the support of our farmers,” said Le Sueur County Sheriff Brett Mason.

To learn more, visit

Soy Tire Donation

Pictured from left to right:  Scott County Sheriff Luke Hennen, Nate Braun, Ryan Thelemann, Greg Entinger, Le Sueur County Sheriff’s Sgt. Todd Waldron, John Schmitz, and Mike Pinney


Facebook Twitter Email