
County of Scott Request for Non-Homestead Classification

Property address City Zip code 

Legal description of the property Date moved 

Owners Who Do Not Occupy The Property Phone #:  
Each owner who does not occupy this property as the primary residence and does not have a 
qualifying relative who occupies the property as the primary residence must fill in this section. 

Signature Date of signature 

Street address City State Zip code 

Print Name Date of signature 

Street address City State Zip code 

Relative Who No Longer Occupies The Property Phone #: 

Print Name Date of signature 

Street address City State Zip code 

Office Use Only: 

Entered to Computer ______________________ Parcel Number _______________________ 

Print Name 

Signature 

Signature 



To qualify for the homestead classification, you must: 
• be one of the owners of the property listed on this application, or be a qualifying

relative of at least one owner of the property;
• occupy the property listed on this application as your primary residence; and
• be a Minnesota resident

To be a qualifying relative of the owner, you must be the owner's; child, stepchild, parent, 
stepparent, grandchild, grandparent, brother, sister, niece, nephew, aunt, or uncle. 

Your County Assessor will determine whether you are a Minnesota resident for purposes of 
qualifying for the homestead classification. You may be considered to be a Minnesota resident if 
all or some of the following conditions apply to you: 

• you are registered to vote in Minnesota;
• you have a valid Minnesota driver's license;
• you file a Minnesota income tax return;
• you list a property in Minnesota as your permanent mailing address;
• you are employed by a business located in Minnesota;
• your children, if any, attend school in Minnesota; and/or
• you are not a resident of any other state or country.

If You Move . . . 
If at any time the property is sold, you change your marital status, or you or your spouse change 
your primary residence, state law requires you to notify the County Assessor within 30 days.  If 
you fail to notify the assessor within 30 days of the change, the property will be assessed the tax 
which is due on the property based on its correct property class plus a penalty. 

Penalties 
A property owner, who obtains or attempts to obtain homestead classification for a property other 
than his or her primary place of residence or the primary place of residence of a qualifying 
relative, is subject to a fine of up to $3,000 and/or up to one year of imprisonment (§ MS 
609.41).  In addition, the property owner will be required to pay all tax which is due on the 
property based on its correct property class plus a penalty. 
(§ MS 273.124, Subd. 13) 

RETURN REQUEST  IN PERSON OR BY MAIL 

Scott County
Property and Taxation Services

200 Fourth Avenue West 
Shakopee, MN  55379-1220 
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